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PCP Rate Increase

As the result of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), eligible primary care physicians will soon receive

increased payments for certain primary care services provided to Medicaid recipients between

January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2014.

The primary care services subject to the increased payment are Current Procedural

Terminology (CPT) Evaluation and Management procedure codes 99201 to 99499, and VFC

Vaccine Administration codes.  The Alabama Medicaid Agency requires the VFC administration

fees to be billed using the specific product code (vaccine codes).  These VFC codes are: 90633,

90636, 90645, 90647, 90648, 90649, 90650, 90655, 90656, 90657, 90658, 90660, 90669, 90670,

90680, 90681, 90696, 90698, 90700, 90702, 90707, 90710, 90713, 90714, 90715, 90716,

90718*, 90721, 90723, 90732, 90733, 90734, 90744, and 90748.  *CPT deleted 90718 effective

12/31/2012; however, this code would still be used in calculating the 60% threshold for CY 2012.  

Eligible physicians include those with a specialist designation of family medicine, general internal

medicine and pediatric medicine or subspecialists related to one of these primary care specialists.

They must be board certified in the specialty or subspecialty; or can verify that 60 percent or more of

the Medicaid codes paid in the previous year were primary care codes and the above listed codes for vaccine administration

codes. 

Increased payment will also be made for primary care services rendered by physician assistants or certified nurse

practitioners working under the personal supervision of a qualifying physician.  In this case, the physician must assume

professional/financial responsibility and is legally liable for the quality of services provided under his or her supervision.  

Eligible providers must self-attest to being board certified by the American Board of Physician Specialties, American

Osteopathic Association, or the American Board of Medical Specialties in one of the eligible physician categories or verify

that 60 percent or more of the Medicaid codes they billed in 2012 were E&M codes and Vaccine Administration codes.

Letters were mailed in late February to all physicians who are currently enrolled with a primary care specialty or subspecialty

designation.  

Before payments can be made, the Agency must obtain final approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) for the planned payment changes, determine the rate that will be paid to providers, and make the necessary

system changes to issue the payments. Medicaid will make retroactive payments for the increase for services that qualify

under the federal regulations by reprocessing the affected claims in order for the physician to receive the increased payment. 
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New Edits to be Activated Soon - Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

Validation for Controlled Substances

Effective May 13, 2013, Alabama Medicaid will DENY any claim for a controlled drug written by a prescriber who does
not have their DEA number registered with the Department of Justice (DOJ) and on file at Medicaid.   

These edits are designed to prevent controlled substances from being filled when the prescription is 
written by an unauthorized prescriber.  The following edits have been in place since November 
2012 and are currently displaying as informational on the provider’s remittance advice:

Edit Description
1038 DEA NOT ON FILE FOR PRESCRIBER
1039 PRESCRIBER DEA NOT EFFECTIVE FOR DATE PRESCRIBED
1040 PRESCRIBER DEA DOES NOT PERMIT DRUG SCHEDULE

NOTE:  The claims which are currently paying and posting one of the 
informational edits above, will deny effective May 13, 2013.

What action needs to be taken to prevent claims from denying on May 13, 2013?

PhysICIAns – Make sure your DEA number is registered with DOJ and is on your enrollment file at Medicaid.
Medicaid deadline for submission:  May 1, 2013. 

To confirm if your DEA number is appropriately registered with the DOJ, and to ensure your correct address/contact
information is registered with the DOJ, you may call the Department of Justice Registration number Toll Free:
(888) 514-7302 or (888) 514-8051.  Prescribers of controlled substances are mandated to re-register their DEA license
every three years. 

To ensure your DEA is on file at Medicaid, fax a copy of the provider’s DEA Registration Certificate to Provider
Enrollment (fax 334-215-4298) and include the provider’s Name, NPI number, and license number on the certificate.
Medicaid will apply the DEA to all service locations based on the provider’s NPI and license number.  The DEA
information should be received by Provider Enrollment prior to May 1, 2013. This deadline will allow Provider

Enrollment time to enter the information in the provider’s file before
the May 13, 2013, implementation date.  

PhARMACIEs – If you are receiving the informational edits, contact
the provider who ordered the prescription and advise them to fax a
copy of the provider’s DEA Registration Certificate to Provider
Enrollment (fax 334-215-4298) and include the provider’s Name,
NPI number, and license number on the certificate.

Why is Medicaid implementing these changes?

In September 2009, the Government Accountability Office (GAO)
issued the report “Medicaid Fraud and Abuse Related to Controlled
Substance Identified in Selected States” which highlighted fraudulent,
improper, or abusive actions in prescribing and dispensing of
controlled substances.  One of the report’s primary recommendations
was that states should use the Drug Enforcement Administration
(DEA) Controlled Substance Registration file as part of their Medicaid
claims processing efforts to prevent paying for controlled substances
ordered by unauthorized prescribers.  

PREsCRIBERs: Please take a moment to validate your DEA
number information. Medicaid encourages all providers to be
proactive and ensure the DEA number of the prescribing provider is
registered with the Department of Justice (DOJ) and on file at Medicaid
prior to May 1, 2013.   

Revision to January 2013 

Article “Important Changes for

Providers Performing 

Reconstructive/Cosmetic 

Procedures”

CPT Codes 11200 and 11201 Removal of skin

tags, coverage will continue for all eligible

benefit types. These CPT codes will be diagnosis

restricted to prevent payment when billed with

diagnosis codes for hypertrophic and atrophic

skin conditions.

Strabismus surgery CPT codes 67311 –

67340 coverage will continue for all eligible

benefit types without prior authorization.

Effective March 1, 2013, CPT Code 54163

Repair Incomplete Circumcision, will require

a Prior Authorization before services are

rendered to the recipient to determine medical

necessity.
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Important Provider Re-enrollment Reminders

Re-enrollment for providers is on-going for Alabama Medicaid providers. Providers are selected for 

re-enrollment monthly based on the longest date of enrollment.  A letter is sent to the payee’s address 

on file for the provider when it is time for them to re-enroll.  Only providers who are sent a letter will be 

able to download a facsimile from the Medicaid Interactive website.  

When a provider receives a letter it is time to re-enroll, they should log onto the Interactive

Website and download a facsimile for review.  Instructions for downloading the facsimile

can be found on the Medicaid Agency website. Once the information has been printed

and reviewed, the provider should sign page three of the facsimile, complete the

appropriate forms and mail to HP using the address on the letter and facsimile. If

changes are necessary, providers should make the appropriate changes on the facsimile.

Please read all information on the facsimile carefully, because additional information

is required (For example, provider agreement and provider disclosure forms). Documentation

requirements can be found on the Medicaid Agency Website.  

It is important to point out the facsimile is not the only information needed for re-enrollment.  The facsimile indicates which

additional forms are required.  

If unsure of required forms, please contact Provider Re-enrollment at 888-223-3630 Option 2 for assistance.  Failure to

send in additional documentation delays your re-enrollment. Approximately 50% of the re-enrollments received lack

the required paperwork to complete re-enrollment upon receipt and require outreach.  

Individual practitioners enrolled under the group do not complete an agreement until the provider has received notification

to re-enroll.  Not all providers within a group will re-enroll at the same time.

how will providers know when it is time for re-enrollment? In addition to the letter sent to the payee address on

file, providers are sent two final notice letters.  Providers may also log onto the Medicaid website after the 5th working day

of each month to view a list of providers scheduled for re-enrollment.  The list includes the provider’s name, NPI and

Medicaid identification number.      

The Affordable Care Act requires some providers have an onsite visit prior to a new enrollment or prior to re-enrollment.

The onsite visits are conducted by Medicaid’s fiscal agent, HP Enterprise Services.  The visits are unscheduled and not

announced prior to the time of visit.  When a Provider Relations Representative arrives at your facility, please make time to

answer questions, and allow them access to your facility.  The HP representatives will wear an identification badge with the

HP logo and their photograph; they will also provide you with a business card.  Failure to answer their questions or assist

could affect your current enrollment or re-enrollment with Alabama Medicaid.  

What happens if re-enrollment is not completed timely? Failure to re-enroll and provide appropriate documentation

(including required additional forms) to complete re-enrollment will result in an end-date being placed on the provider file.

Once a provider has been closed to failure to timely re-enroll, providers will have to submit a new application for enrollment.

Please do not hesitate to contact Provider Re-enrollment with any questions at 1-888-223-3630 Option 2. 

Correction to the January 2013 Insider Article “Attention Providers”

Audits 5664, Initial office visit/ prior visit contra, and 5665, Prior visit/initial office visit contra, are effective for claims

received on or after 10/24/2012. 

Effective for claims received on or after 10/24/2012: Audit 5664, Initial office visit/ prior visit contra, has been

established to deny the reimbursement of an initial office visit procedure (99201 - 99205) when billed for the same

recipient, by the same billing provider, same rendering provider specialty, within 3 (three) years after any subsequent

office, hospital, or nursing home evaluation and management service (99211 - 99499). 

Effective for claims received on or after 10/24/2012: Audit 5665, Prior visit/initial office visit contra, has been

established to deny the reimbursement of subsequent office, hospital, or nursing home evaluation and management

service (99211 - 99499) when billed for the same recipient, by the same billing provider, same rendering provider,

provider specialty, anytime within 3 (years) prior to an initial office visit procedure (99201 - 99205).  

If you have questions, contact the Provider Assistance Center at 1−800−688−7989.
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Mandatory provisions of the Affordable Care Act require the

Alabama Medicaid Agency to select and provide oversight

for a Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC) to perform

provider audits. Goold Health Systems (GHS), a Maine-

based firm, has been selected to be Alabama Medicaid’s

Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC) for a two-year period

beginning January 1, 2013. 

The RAC program is designed to improve payment accuracy

by identifying under and overpayments in Medicaid.  The

Medicaid RAC program is a separate program from the

Medicare RAC which is overseen by the Centers for

Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

REMINDER:  Claims Processing for the Hospice Program

Below are a few tips in an effort to assist Hospice Providers with the processing of

Hospice claims:

• For a dually eligible recipient in the community, the recipient is not on the Level 

of Care panel and the hospice provider does not bill Medicaid for services.

• For a dually eligible recipient in a nursing home, if financially eligible, the 

recipient is on the Level of Care panel. Medicaid reimburses the hospice provider 95% of the nursing home rate 

applicable for that year for the room and board that would have been paid to the nursing home (Revenue Code 

659/Procedure Code T2046-SE).  Hospice bills Medicare for routine care services. 

• For a straight Medicaid recipient (meaning Non-Medicare) in the community, if financially and medically eligible, 

the recipient is on the Level of Care panel.  Medicaid reimburses the hospice provider for every day service is 

rendered at the appropriate care level (Revenue Code 651/Procedure Code T2042 for Routine Home Care or 

Revenue Code 652/Procedure Code T2042-SC for Continuous Home Care).

• For a straight Medicaid recipient in a nursing facility, if financially and medically eligible, the recipient is on the 

Level of Care panel.  Medicaid reimburses the hospice provider for the appropriate care level for every day service 

is rendered + 95% of the nursing home rate applicable for that year for the room & board that would have been 

paid to the nursing home (Revenue Code 659/Procedure Code T2046 for Nursing Home Room and Board, Routine

Care or Revenue Code 659/Procedure Code T2046-SC for Nursing Home Room and Board, Continuous Care).  

nOTE:  For a straight Medicaid recipient, Medicaid will reimburse Hospice for every day services are rendered.  This includes

reimbursement for Date of Death or Discharge when the recipient is in a nursing facility for a straight Medicaid recipient

(meaning Non-Medicare).  If the recipient revokes hospice or is discharged from hospice, but does not physically leave the

nursing facility, the hospice provider can submit a claim to the Agency for reimbursement regarding room and board and

other hospice services that were administered to the recipient.  

Reimbursement for disease specific drugs related to the recipient’s terminal illness as well as drugs found on the Hospice

Palliative Drug List (HPDL) are included in the per diem rates for hospice covered services and will not be reimbursed

through the Medicaid Pharmacy Program. The HPDL is on the agency website at www.medicaid.alabama.gov   (Refer to

Hospice Provider Manual Chapter 18 NOTE under 18.2.9 Reimbursement for Levels of Care).

For questions or concerns regarding claims processing for Hospice Program, please contact Felicha Fisher at (334) 353-5153.

Reviews will be conducted by GHS staff to include full time

medical directors, pharmacists, certified professional coders,

and experienced clinicians.  Audits will be conducted by GHS

using a “top down” approach where data analysis, through

data mining, is applied against the universe of paid claims to

identify patterns of utilization or billing which look atypical

based on Alabama Medicaid and/or national standards.

Following the high-level claims analysis, GHS may expand

its review by requesting clinical records and/or other

documents in accordance with state and federal regulations. 

GHS has been informed of the critical role that all providers

play in a successful Medicaid program and requires that

auditors be professional, objective, and consistent in

performing all required audits/reviews.  

Providers with questions about the RAC requirements

may contact Vanesia Boyd, Contract Manager, the

Alabama Medicaid Agency at (334) 242-5339, or by email

at vanesia.boyd@medicaid.alabama.gov .

Provider Payment Accuracy is Focus of State-based RAC Program
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ICD-10 Updates

CMS has delayed implementation for ICD-10 from October 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014.  The Alabama Medicaid Agency

is preparing for ICD-10 implementation as early as October 1, 2013, but no later than October 1, 2014.  This means

Medicaid will have its claims processing system ready for ICD-10, but will not accept nor require the provider to use

ICD-10 codes on their claims until the CMS mandate of October 1, 2014.   Providers are encouraged to review updates

related to ICD-10 implementation on the Alabama Medicaid website.  

http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.12_ICD-10/6.12_ICD-10.aspx

If you would like to receive e-mail notifications concerning ICD-10 changes, please log on to the Alabama Medicaid

Provider Web Portal and update your Account Maintenance e-mail address.  Providers and trading partners may update

their e-mail by logging onto the Provider Web Portal.  

https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/Account/Secure%20Site/tabId/66/Default.aspx

Navigation:  Account>Account Maintenance

Provider Electronic Solutions Software version 3.02 includes modification for ICD-10.  

Please download version 3.02 to ensure you are submitting claims with the latest version of the software.  

You should not start to use ICD-10 diagnosis codes until you are advised to submit them by Medicaid.

Vendor and provider surveys related to ICD-10 readiness will continue until implementation.  

The next survey for vendors will be open April 2-19, 2013.  

The next survey for providers will be May 16 - June 4, 2013.

The survey will be available on the Medicaid website in the ICD-10 section under Provider information.  

We encourage providers and vendors to complete our surveys (which should take less than 5 minutes).  

The surveys will help us track the progress, uncover issues, and identify training that may be helpful to providers.

QuARTERly Vendor sChEDulE:

ProVIder QuARTERly suRvEy sChEDulE:



All Long Term Care, Hospice and Inpatient Psychiatric Facilities

Please be reminded that records requested for retrospective review, or which require a medical review must be mailed

to HP with a correctly completed HP coversheet.  All 13 digits of the recipient’s Medicaid ID are required.  Records re-

ceived at HP without a correctly completed HP coversheet, or no coversheet, will be returned to the provider.  This

may result in penalties for nursing home providers which fail to submit records timely and/or a delay in the review of

the record.  Providers submitting more than one record should clearly separate each record and ensure that a

hP coversheet is included for each recipient. Providers are also encouraged to review each submission and to

send only what is requested for an audit, and/or to meet criteria.  For example, it is not necessary to send social work,

chaplain or aide visit notes for a hospice record.

HP coversheets are found on the Medicaid website at this link, 

http://medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/5.0_Resources/5.4_Forms_Library/5.4.3_LTC_Forms.aspx

All DME Providers

Please be reminded that durable medical equipment is a covered

service under the hospice benefit and therefore should not be billed

separately.  Per Chapter 18, Hospice, of the Billing Manual on page

17, “Appliances include durable medical equipment as well as other

self-help and personal comfort items provided by the hospice for use

in the patient’s home for the palliation or management of the patient’s

terminal illness and/or related condition. These appliances and sup-

plies must be included in the written plan of care.” Therefore, if the

requested DME is related to the terminal diagnosis and the recipient’s

eligibility response indicates hospice, neither a prior authorization

request nor a claim should be submitted to Medicaid.

A written order or a signed prescription from the attending physician must be dated prior to or on the delivery date,

unless a different effective date is clearly documented on the prescription. Otherwise, the effective date is the date of

the physician signature.  (Verbal orders must be signed within 48 hours of the order being issued.) An effective date

that is handwritten on a prescription and differs from the date of the physician’s signature, must be initialed and dated

by the physician to verify the effective date.
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ESRD Laboratory Services

laboratory tests listed in Chapter 35 (Renal Dialysis Facility) are 

considered routine and are included as part of the composite rate of 

reimbursement. When any of these tests are performed at a frequency 

greater than specified,the additional tests are separately billable and 

are covered only if they are medically necessary and billed directly 

by the actual provider of the service. A diagnosis of ESRD alone is not 

sufficient medical evidence to warrant coverage of additional tests.  

The nature of the illness or injury (diagnosis, complaint, or symptom) 

requiring the performance of the test(s) must be present on the claim.  

ATTENTION:

ATTENTION: Referring NPI Numbers 

Now Validated on All Claims 

Received for Processing

All claims submitted with a referring provider

number will be validated during claims processing.

If a referring NPI is placed on the claim but

is NOT required, the claim will deny if the

number is not valid in the HP claims processing

system.

Providers should not place referring NPI

numbers on claims unless it is required for

processing.
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PERM Provider Education Sessions

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is hosting four PERM Provider Education Webinar/Conference

calls during Cycle 2.The purpose of Payment Error Rate Measurement (PERM) Provider Education Webinars/Conference

Calls is to provide opportunities for the providers of the Medicaid and CHIP communities to enhance their understanding

of specific provider responsibilities during PERM. The webinars/conference calls will cover the PERM process and provider

responsibilities during a PERM review, frequent mistakes and best practices for documentation submission, and an

overview of the Electronic Submission of Medical Documentation (ESMD) program. Dates, times and other information

for the four sessions that will be hosted by CMS are listed below.

• Tuesday, May 21, 2013, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central Time

To Join Meeting:
Audio: 1-877-267-1577; Meeting ID# 4964
Webinar: https://webinar.cms.hhs.gov/permcycle2web1/

• Wednesday, June 5, 2013, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central Time

To Join Meeting:
Audio: 1-877-267-1577; Meeting ID# 4964
Webinar: https://webinar.cms.hhs.gov/permcycle2web2/

• Tuesday, June 18, 2013, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central Time

To Join Meeting:
Audio: 1-877-267-1577; Meeting ID# 4964
Webinar: https://webinar.cms.hhs.gov/permcycle2web3/

• Tuesday, July 2, 2013, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central Time

To Join Meeting:
Audio: 1-877-267-1577; Meeting ID# 4964
Webinar: https://webinar.cms.hhs.gov/permcycle2web4/

There will be time available for Q&As at the end of the presentations. 

However, CMS encourages all participants to submit questions in advance to 

the designated PERM Provider email address at PERMProviders@cms.hhs.gov. 

Presentation materials and participant call-in information will be posted on 

the Provider Education Calls link at: http://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-

Data-and-Systems/Monitoring-Programs/PERM/Provider_Education_Calls.html. 

The webinars are being presented on a Connect Pro platform.  

To test your connection in advance, launch:

https://webinar.cms.hhs.gov/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm. 

1

2

3

4



Alabama
Med ica id
Bu l l e t i n

P R S RT  S T D
U . S .  P O S TA G E

PA I D
P E R M I T  #  7 7

M O N T G O M E R Y  A L

Post Office Box 244032
Montgomery, AL  36124-4032

01/04/13

01/18/13

02/08/13

02/22/13

03/08/13

03/22/13

04/05/13

04/19/13

05/03/13

05/17/13

06/07/13

06/21/13

07/05/13

07/19/13

08/02/13

08/16/13

09/06/13

09/13/13

2013 State Checkwrite Schedule

The release of funds is normally the second Monday after the RA date. Please verify direct deposit status with your bank.
Go to www.medicaid.alabama.gov to view the payment delay update details.  Payment alerts will be posted only if there
will be a payment delay.  As aways, the release of direct deposits and checks depends on the availability of funds.


